PowerShell error: The local farm is not accessible. Cmdlets with FeatureDependencyId are not registered.

On my development VM, I created a new user in AD. I added the user to my Farm Admins. But when I loaded powershell, I got the message
The local farm is not accessible. Cmdlets with FeatureDependencyId are not registered.

As it turns out, I hadn’t yet given my account any rights to SQL. Things began to work once the account had access to the WSS_Content db. Check your access by SQL Management Studio, under WSS_Content, Security, UserName > Right Click > Properties.  I started a new PS window, too, just in case.

Tags:

2 responses to “PowerShell error: The local farm is not accessible. Cmdlets with FeatureDependencyId are not registered.”

  1. Rebecca Hansen says :

    This is easy to fix, just log on as a user that does not receive this error. The Farm Setup account will always work and then run ADD-SPSHELLADMIN -USERNAME domain\adminUserToAdd

    That’s it and you should be go

    If you want a list of the Shell Admins then you can just run a standard PowerShell get => GET-SPSHELLADMIN

Leave a Reply

