Why the TaxonomyPicker.ascx is no longer used

So some good SharePoint folks have stumbled into an error pertaining to the TaxonomyPicker control. (Links are at the bottom.)

My guess here is that the TaxonomyPicker.ascx control was left behind – obsolete. Nothing Taxonomy-related is found in Microsoft.SharePoint.Portal. For Taxonomy – or managed metadata – look to the Microsoft.SharePoint.Taxonomy.dll found in the 14\ISAPI folder.

The fact is, I don’t see any place in SharePoint where the control is being used. It has probably been replaced with the page TaxonomyTreePicker.aspx.  It is used when you are filling in metadata for a field of type TaxonomyField (gui calls it “Managed Metadata”).

Here is this page in action:

If you look at the source (Right click and View Source on the form), you’ll see the traces pointing back to the TaxonomyTreePicker.aspx file.

So why does the error matter? Well, when you run an IISRESET or reboot, IIS will try to load the usercontrols into memory. I don’t like manually editing files, especially usercontrols. So I’m going to leave it alone.

Links

http://www.sharepointdan.com/2010/05/19/taxonomypicker-ascx-bug-sp2010-rtm/

http://todd-carter.com/post/2010/05/03/Help-Wanted-Taxonomy-Picker.aspx

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en/sharepoint2010general/thread/84e2496c-5cc9-4df8-9667-153d1ca02e60

4 responses to “Why the TaxonomyPicker.ascx is no longer used”

  1. Dan Usher says :

    David,

    Good point with regard to the control being abandoned, I suppose I’m more stumped as to why it was left in the RTM build and not removed – especially if there’s a bug in it…

    -du

  2. Kevin Parker says :

    This is the second time I’ve run across this error–and your post. I’m going to link to this in my blog so I don’t forget again for the next client. Fool me twice, shame on me!

Leave a Reply

